Renaissance Monumental Ensembles of Úbeda and Baeza

I stayed an extra day in Granada to catch up on my laundry, cook a mountain of vegetables, plan my next few journeys and have a lie in.  It was during the planning that I discoverd that rather than an infrequent train and a taxi, I could get to my next stop by direct bus.  Indeed I realised that on routes where there is only one train a day there can be five buses.  So it’s back on the buses for me then.

Bright and early next day (today) I attempted not to wake the rest of my dormitory and went off to catch the 7.45am bus to Ubeda, which with the nearby town of Baeza, forms one world heritage site – the UN describe them as outstanding early examples of Renaissance civic architecture and urban planning in Spain in the early 16th century and I don’t think I can improve on that. I decided just to visit one of the two towns in a day on the way from Grenada to Cordoba and it worked out very nicely, giving me enough time to mooch around town, sit on shady benches and visit a few churches before catching my onward bus to Cordoba in the late afternoon.

Palacio de las Cadenas, Ubeda

Palacio de las Cadenas, Ubeda

Here’s the Holy Chapel of El Salvador, built as a funerary chapel by a local big wig in the middle if the 16th century:

Holy Chapel of El Salvador, Ubeda

Holy Chapel of El Salvador, Ubeda

 

And here’s my Lego interpretation:

Lego Holy Chapel of El Salvador

Lego Holy Chapel of El Salvador

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

