Historic City of Sucre

I took an afternoon bus from Potosi to Sucre and decided to take a taxi to a nice sounding hotel I’d picked from the ‘mid-range’ priced list of accommodation on Wikitravel, deciding it was time I had a bit of luxury. And heating, my own clean bathroom and hot water were just the ticket. That I had cable TV with continuous American crime and medical serials that were subtitled rather than dubbed and a window seat with a nice view didn’t hurt either. I liked my room so much that an hour after I checked in I went down to the desk to ask for a third night.

Sucre

Sucre

Sucre is Bolivia’s constitutional capital, whereas La Paz is the administrative one. The city was founded in the mid sixteenth century and is a generally attractive city with some interesting churches in the local version of Baroque. I didn’t see quite as many of these as I planned as they open to an erratic timetable that bears little resemblance to that posted on the signs outside.

Sucre - cloister of Santa Clara convent

Sucre - cloister of Santa Clara convent

The city is known for its chocolates apparently, so I did my bit to appreciate this aspect of its culture by buying (and scoffing) a fair number. I would sit in my sunny hotel window seat in the late afternoon eating chocolates and drinking carrot flavour iced tea. My addiction to peach flavour iced tea has been on hold since I left Brazil as I have completely failed to find any in Argentina or Bolivia. Imagine my delight on seeing iced tea in a Sucre supermarket only to find that the available flavours were the standard lemon (which makes me think of washing-up liquid) and carrot. I don’t know what it tastes of (I was not getting carrot) but it rather grew on me.

Sucre

Sucre

All in all I didn’t do a massive amount in Sucre, but I did enjoy my stay very much and when I discovered that I wouldn’t know if the overnight bus service I was taking onwards was going to run until the morning of the day itself, I was half hoping it wouldn’t, so I could stay longer. As it happened, it did, so off I went.

Sucre

Sucre

I had trouble deciding what to build as a Lego model for this site and finally settled on a model, not of a specific building, but showing the type of house with enclosed first floor balcony that crops up all over town.

Sucre

Sucre

And here it is:

Lego Sucre

Lego Sucre

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Historic City of Sucre

  1. drsnyc says:

    That’s so cute! My dream house would definitely have an enclosed balcony on it somewhere-maybe I can make do with a lego version. It sounds like you enjoyed your brief “holiday” from travelling!

    • Jax says:

      My dream house has a cloister, however impractical that is for an English winter! I certainly did enjoy my holiday – I’m feeling the need for them rather more now I’m on the home straight.

  2. danandrew says:

    Ooh I miss Sucre and the chocolate… did you have an amazing fruit salad or fruit smoothie from the market? I still dream of those from the other side of the world, they were that good!

Leave a Reply

