The other, even madder, part of the Plan

The observant amongst you may have spotted the little sub-header up there on the top right hand corner of the page.  Lego?!

I am mildly obsessed with buildings.  I collect architectural construction toys (see link to my website on the right) and tiny souvenir houses. I build 144th scale dolls houses. I build in Lego, in particular in micro scale (for a person only a few mm tall) sometimes entering online contests, although I’m pretty rubbish. I like making things.

So, I thought I’d take a small kit of Lego with me and attempt to build a micro scale model of each site (or part of it) as I went along. If nothing else, this will force me to really look at them in detail and do a spot of sketching. I have no idea if this is going to work, but it should keep me out of mischief in the evenings.

This entry was posted in Pre-departure. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The other, even madder, part of the Plan

  1. Richard A says:

    Yes and a foreground/background photo of model and site for each place would be good.
    Still think you should keep one night of the week free for mischief.

  2. Nadia says:

    That is totally awesome; I love the Lego part! Looking forward to seeing the photos of both the world heritage sites and their more minuscule counterparts.

  3. Elizabeth James says:

    Dear Jackie
    This is brilliant. Sorry not to say goodbye — and to miss your last Displays Group meeting I guess. May I share my disappointment of ca. 45 years ago, that my parents bought me a Betta Bilda set when my brother got proper Lego; but that about 10 in a small village show I did win a rosette (Commended, at most) for a constructed model of a bungalow … Very best wishes on your travels — Elizabeth (WID)

  4. I look forward to seeing your lego versions of the sites you visit. Will you be photographing them held up in front of the actual buildings? Have fun…

Leave a Reply

