Palau de la Música Catalana and Hospital de Sant Pau, Barcelona

These are buildings designed by a contemporary of Gaudi, Lluís Domènech i Montaner. The music palace is from 1905 and is highly decorated although difficult to fully appreciate from a narrow street. Sadly there were no tours today becasue of some big nob cultural event, although the foyer looked impressive from my peer through the glass.

Palau de la Musica Catalana

Palau de la Musica Catalana

The hospital was build from  to and completed by the architect’s son after his death. It comprises lots of separate pavilions set in gardens and linked by underground tunnels, The hospital functions have only recently moved into new buildings on the same site and the historic parts are being refurbished, aiming to finish in 2014. This meant that a lot of the site was either covered in scaffolding or behind mesh fencing, as you can see in my photographs.

Hospital de Sant Pau - entrance

Hospital de Sant Pau - entrance

I went on a tour that went into a couple of the inaccesable areas and required the wearing of a hivis vest. It was rather expensive, which probably explains why I was the only person on it. This did mean that I got the guide’s full English speaking attention for over an hour though, so I didn’t feel done.

Hospital de Sant Pau - a ward pavilion

Hospital de Sant Pau - a ward pavilion

I don’t have any red with me to render a red brick building (why I didn’t think of that I don’t know) so the colours on my model are more off than I would like. Sorry about the rubbish photograph, it was getting late and raining hard!

 

Lego Hospital de Sant Pau

Lego Hospital de Sant Pau

 

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

