Burgos Cathedral

As previously reported, I skipped out of Logrono on a bus to Burgos, my next planned port of call, mainly due to the festival induced hotel bed shortage. No such problem here, were I passed on the hotel directly above the bus station frontage and found somewhere across the river in the town centre just around the corner from a lovely tree lined walk with some large but tidy topiary (I love a nice bit of tope’).

Burgos

Burgos

Built between the early 13th and mid 16th centuries, Burgos cathedral is a lavishly encrusted Gothic structure full of Renaissance decoration and the usual paintings, altarpieces and treasures.

Burgos cathedral - Renaissance staircase

Burgos cathedral - Renaissance staircase

When trying to take in something this big and complex I find myself spending a lot of time looking at details, such as this wood inlay image from a seat in the choir:

Burgos cathedral - choir stall seat

Burgos cathedral - choir stall seat

And this little stone dog on a marble tomb effigy:

Burgos cathedral - tomb

Burgos cathedral - tomb

 The interior is festooned with  stone frills and has lace-like tracery over the central crossing:

Burgos cathedral

Burgos cathedral

The main facade is also  pile of stone lace at the top:

Burgos cathedral

Burgos cathedral

And, possibly foolishly, this is what I chose for the Lego model, forgetting until I got there that I have no suitable parts for the Blackpool Tower -like pyramids at the top. Hence some rather desparate improvisation.

Lego Burgos cathedral

Lego Burgos cathedral

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Burgos Cathedral

  1. Karla says:

    Oooh! I like this model!!!

  2. drsnyc says:

    wow Jackie – I have never been a fan of Baroque but thoroughly enjoyed this post – thank you! I think my favourite photo so far is the one of the dog asleep on the tomb (bear in mind I am a cat person) Also terribly impressed by your “bit of improvisation”. Very inspiring. Hope you are enjoying it all as much as we are enjoying reading about it. Deborah

    • Jax says:

      Thank you both! The Baroque is growing on me too Deborah, in particular Mannerist decoration, which I never used to like. And I am indeed enjoying myself – all my work-related stress is now a distant memory!

Leave a Reply

