Monastery of Batalha

After visiting the Alcobaca monastery I went back to the bus station and bought a ticket for the half hour local bus journey to Batalha, but the bus was either very late or I somehow missed it. However, on enquiring of another bus driver if he went there, he told me no but I could go part way on his bus and change, which led to me spending a nervous ten minutes in a bus stop somewhere before a connecting service did indeed turn up.

Batalha monastery church

Batalha monastery church

This is a Dominican monastery built to commemorate a victory over the Castilians in the 14th century and to fulfil a royal vow. Most of the building is in ornate 15th century Gothic and Manueline styles.

Batalha monastery - the cloister of King John I

Batalha monastery - the cloister of King John I

The kings kept on adding to it but one part, intended as a mausoleum for a 15th century king, was never completed and is abruptly truncated just above the side chapels:

Batalha monastery - the unfinished chapels

Batalha monastery - the unfinished chapels

A couple of posts ago I opined that I didn’t have enough Lego parts with me to build a cloister. Whilst that is true, I did realise I could build a segment of this one though:

Batalha monastery - the cloister of King Alfonso V

Batalha monastery - the cloister of King Alfonso V

The two arched window pieces are ideal:

Lego Batalha monastery - the cloister of King Alfonso V

Lego Batalha monastery - the cloister of King Alfonso V

And finally, here’s one of the wonderful stone faces on the monks’ washing fountain in the main cloister:

Batalha monastery - stone face

Batalha monastery - stone face

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monastery of Batalha

  1. deborahrs says:

    lacy cloister decoration – a cooling pattern for a hot day

Leave a Reply

