Historic Centre of Camagüey

Travelling further east, and away from the coast, I moved from Trinidad to the much larger town of Camaguey. Here my accommodation organiser in Havana had placed me in a lovely house but much too far from the centre, which meant I got to try out Cuba’s bicycle rickshaw taxis – cheap and rather exciting!

Camaguey

Camaguey

Another 16th century Spanish town, Camaguey does not have the usual grid pattern layout but instead winding streets and unexpected plazas. As I had no map I’d asked my first cycle ride to drop me in a central square. I then managed to wander around for a couple of hours without quite finding the real centre. Luckily, as I was sitting in a square, a young German couple I’d chatted to in the cyber cafe in Trinidad wandered past and shared their guidebook with me so I could get my bearings.

Camaguey

Camaguey

The town suffered from pirate attacks in the 17th century and was rebuilt a number of times. It has traditional architecture influenced by Andalusia as well as a wide range of 19th and early 20th century styles. Like Trinidad, it prospered from the sugar industry.

Camaguey

Camaguey

For the Lego model I wanted to build this green house in one of the plazas.

Camaguey

Camaguey

Unfortunately I don’t have quite enough coloured bricks, so I’ve had to build it in a much less attractive grey instead.

Lego Camaguey

Lego Camaguey

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Historic Centre of Camagüey

  1. drsnyc says:

    loving the neon? Che

Leave a Reply

