Trinidad and the Valley de los Ingenios

A few hours east Cienfuegos by bus is the rather delightful little Spanish colonial town of Trinidad, founded in the 16th century. It played an important part in the Spanish expeditions into South America, acting as a setting off point for conquistadors.

Trinidad - main square

Trinidad - main square

In the 18th century the town grew rich on sugar and the other part of the WHS covers historic remains of the industry in the surrounding area. I didn’t venture out to explore these, but my bus did go through the Valley de los Ingenios, and very picturesque it was too.

Valley de los Ingenios

Valley de los Ingenios

The old houses have turned wooden window grilles, usually painted in a contrasting colour to the house, which give them a distinctive look.

Trinidad

Trinidad

I saw less road traffic here than in other towns but did see quite a few people riding horses through the centre. There also seemed to be a bit of a craze amongst the children for flying (very successfully) little home-made plastic kites.

Trinidad

Trinidad

For my Lego model I’ve chosen this rather attractive two storey house near the main square.

Lego Trinidad

Lego Trinidad

Trinidad was notable for two other things: it had a cyber cafe (hallelujah) and my B&B room yielded an interesting assemblage of things in one of the drawers. Presumably left behind by a previous tourist, they comprised: an airline eye mask, three condoms (unused!), a crumpled one peso note and a half-used packet of antibiotics. I thought I should add to the collection but didn’t have anything I felt I could do without, so my contribution was a bit of plastic covered wire I found attached to my backpack, used to secure a recent bus luggage tag.

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

