A grave diversion

I took an overnight bus back from Santiago to Havana with the intention of hopping on the morning bus to my next stop, that left an hour or so after my arrival. Unfortunately it was fully booked so I had to wait for the late afternoon one instead. I cursed this fate until I found a huge cemetery, the Necropolis Colón.

Necropolis Colón, Havana

Necropolis Colón, Havana

You have to pay to get in and I’m so glad I did. I love ornate tombs and this place as loads. I also had some very happy moments sitting on benches in the shade, enjoying not being pestered by anyone.

Necropolis Colón, Havana

Necropolis Colón, Havana

One thing I saw, which may or may not be the only evidence of Santeria I saw in Cuba, was a decapitated goat lying on one of the paths. Santeria being a religion that incorporates traditional Yuruba beliefs brought to the Caribbean by slaves, Roman Catholicism and native American beliefs.

Necropolis Colón, Havana - decapitated goat

Necropolis Colón, Havana - decapitated goat

What particularly struck me in the cemetery was the very large tombs for members of a society or trade union. Presumably you pay a bit in and get an impressive monument you couldn’t afford youself.

Necropolis Colón, Havana - communal tomb for workers in the electricity industry

Necropolis Colón, Havana - communal tomb for workers in the electricity industry

 

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A grave diversion

  1. Meg says:

    Where is the lego decapitated goat?

Leave a Reply

