Antigua Guatemala

My biggest worry about getting to the old capital of Guatemala (generally just called Antigua), was that I would have to change buses in the very scary sounding Guatemala City. In the end this wasn’t necessary as I found a minibus direct from Copan. The bus stopped for breakfast on the way and it may be there that I contracted the food poisoning which struck shortly after I checked into my hostel. It wasn’t too awful and as I’d decided to stay for two days, in the mistaken belief that I wouldn’t be able to see it all in one, I had time to get well enough for a light potter around town.

Antigua

Antigua

Antigua was founded in the early sixteenth century but mostly destroyed by a 1773 earthquake, after which the capital was moved to Guatemala City. The remains of churches destroyed then are still standing as empty shells.

Antigua - terrific doorway

Antigua - terrific doorway

In appearance the town reminded me very much of San Miguel de Allende in Mexico with a similar feel and architecture and with the usual rectilinear colonial layout.

Antigua

Antigua

There are a lot of tourist here and consequently a lot of ladies selling embroidered tablecloths, kitchen pot holders and the like in the main square. To encourage you to buy they like to suggest that you buy something as a gift for a friend “or an enemy”!

Antigua

Antigua

As I mostly wandered around weakly, stopping frequently for tea and a read I didn’t see all the town had to offer. But of what I did visit, my favourite building in Antigua was this church with delicate decoration that makes me think of icing on a wedding cake.

Antigua

Antigua

Since I wouldn’t have been able render the detail in Lego I instead went for this street view for my model:

Antigua

Antigua

Which came out like this:

Lego Antigua

Lego Antigua

 One thing that I have not been able to get to the bottom of is why this plaque is in the main square, just in front of the Cathedral.

Antigua - startling plaque

Antigua - startling plaque

I’ve tried Googling it but of course just get a load of nut job clap trap.

This entry was posted in Lego, UN World Heritage Site and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

