Paragliding in Pokarah

With neither the fitness or equipment for trekking, the standard traveller activity in Nepal, I thought I should find another way to enjoy the Himalayas whilst I was there. So I took a bus to the small lake-side town of Pokarah, where a lot of treks start, and spent a pleasant couple of days relaxing within sight of snow-capped peaks.

looking over the lake at Pokarah

looking over the lake at Pokarah

Well, mostly relaxing. I did also do a tandem paraglide off the top of a short mountain, attached to a delightful Polish man.

paragliding over Pokarah

paragliding over Pokarah

The flight was beautiful and calm (so long as I didn’t think about the strength of the two carabiners between me and plummeting doom) until shortly before the end, when he announced it was time for some acrobatics. I spent the next few minutes with my eyes closed, screaming. Until I watch the video he took (my travelling computer doesn’t have the software) I’ll have no idea what was actually happening. All I know is that I had to spend twenty minutes sitting on the grass after we landed, getting over my nausea. Next time it’s offered, I think I’ll politely decline the exciting bit at the end!

paragliding over Pokarah

paragliding over Pokarah

Apart from that, I went for a boat trip on the lake, mooched through the souvenir shops and drank cocktails in a water side bar with a cat snuggled up to me. Then I took a bus back to Kathmandu, spent a day there arranging my onward travels and flew back to India.

cocktail bar cat in Pokarah

cocktail bar cat in Pokarah

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

